top of page

vincent

Updated: Apr 4, 2022

by corinna


I named him Vincent Van Diesel

Hoping he’d live up to his dual namesake

In artistry and action

He was just a puny plant in a terrarium

But there was something plucky about his demeanor


I remember the day I put him together

Such precision and craft

The work of my hands, the sweat of my brow

But on the train home

The terrarium fell apart

Precision and craft turned

Disorder and slapdash

That was the first tragedy


Still, he rose from the ashes of his buried past

A little wobbly, a little bent

I gave him sun, the brightest one

And he lived, mediocrely


Then came the second tragedy

His home was kicked over

And he tumbled around in its shambles

It must have been like a terrible ride in a washing machine

I presume, for I wasn’t home

Mom left him that way, in the darkness of her mistake

Till I dug him out and dusted him off

Cradling him like a scared child in a thunderstorm


He still lives

Today I nudge him under a dusty, golden ray

And say, “Vincent Van Diesel, the beginning

is perhaps more difficult than anything else,

but keep heart, live a quarter mile at a time,

it will turn out all right.”


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page